How to Delete Transactions on Sage 50?

Delete Transactions on Sage

Sage 50 is a premier accounting software that helps businesses and professionals perform their accounting tasks in a more efficient manner. No prizes for guessing why it is quite popular all over the world. It is also appreciated for its user-friendly interface and useful features. However, there are some features that the users may find difficult at times. Deleting transactions is one such feature incorporated in Sage 50. Users may need to delete transactions owing to various reasons. However, any inadvertent errors made in the process may do more harm than good. Therefore, before trying to delete any transactions in Sage 50, we would recommend you gain complete knowledge of the process. Also, you should create a proper backup before proceeding to delete transactions.

You do not need to worry though! In this blog, we would be talking about how to delete transactions in Sage 50 and other associated matters. You simply need to flip through this blog till the very end.

Here we go!

Things to Consider Before Proceeding to Delete Transactions in Sage 50:

You should take care of the following to avoid any future issues-

  • Please ensure to take a proper backup of your business data
  • No work should be permitted in the work orders included in the Sage Batch Controller
  • The delivery notes visible in the Sage controller should be updated to invoicing.

Also please note the following before deleting any transaction in the Edit Register

  • You can delete a transaction using Cash Management only when it is posted in the Cash Management.
  • after deleting the transaction, the original accounting date can be used to reverse the entry
  • Avoid deleting Reconciled /Cleared Transaction as much as possible.
  • If you have entered any transaction through the Setup Assistant Process and the transaction is deleted, no reverse entry would be sent to the General ledger
  • If you delete the bank transfer, both sides of the transfer will get deleted with the relevant bank account.

Steps for Delete Transactions on Sage 50:

Please follow the steps below-

  • Navigate to the Task Menu
  • Click on Edit Register
  • Now, click to select the relevant bank account
  • Click Ok to proceed
  • Now, to delete a transaction, locate it in the row that is matching with the transaction
  • Click to select the transaction to delete
  • You will see a black arrow for this transaction
  • Right-click on it
  • Now click on the tab named Delete Row
  • A prompt will pop up. Click yes to delete

Please note: If any journal entry is earmarked as Bank Transfer, make sure to delete the other side of the transfer from the bank account.

  • Select Finish
  • Click on the Start Button to print the journal or to save it as a file
  • you can post the reversing entries in Cash Management, with the General Ledger
  • Once the entries are deleted, you may need to delete the bank balances as well

Our Assistance:

We hope , after going through the blog, you have received a fair idea of how to delete transactions in Sage 50 and what precautions to take before starting the deletion process. You can now run your Sage software and proceed to delete any transaction, as and when you need. If you are stuck at any point, you may contact our experienced team at any time. We would be more than happy to clear all your doubts and answer all your queries related to the Sage 50 application.


Frequently Asked Questions

How can I Delete the Multiple Transactions in the Sage 50?

Ans. Firstly, you have to create a backup of your company data. Then, go to the left pane and then choose the “Invoice List or Sales Order” option. Now, you have to view the suppliers’ module. Go to the links pane and hit the click on the “Purchase order” list which you want to delete. After this, Hit the Delete button and give YES information to close the module.

Is it Possible to Hide the Deleted Transactions on Sage 50?

Ans. Yes, you can easily hide the deleted transactions in Sage 50 from the reports, activity windows, and lists. First of all, open the settings and click on the “Company Preferences” The next thing you have to do to choose the parameter. After this, you have to choose the “Deleted transactions” checkbox and hit the OK button.

How Can I Delete the Payment on the Account in Sage 50?

Ans. To delete the payment, you have to delete the transactions, you need to log from all other users out of the Sage 50. Go to the navigation bar and click on the “Transactions” option. Then, you have to choose the transaction that you want to delete and hit the Delete button to finish the program.

Can I Hide the Deleted Transactions on Sage 50 from list, reports and activity windows?

Ans. Yes, you can do this easily in Sage 50. For this, go to Settings and click on “Company Preferences“. Next, you will need to select the parameter precisely. Finally, you will need to checkmark the “Deleted transactions” box and click on the OK button.

What is the Procedure to Delete Multiple Transactions in the Sage 50?

Ans. First, you need to create a proper backup of your company data. Next, navigate to the left pane and then click on the “Invoice List or Sales Order” option. Now, click to open the suppliers’ module. Navigate to the links pane and click the “Purchase order” list you need to delete. Finally, click on the Delete button and click on the YES tab to close the module.

How can I make an account inactive in Sage 50?

You may make an account inactive to make sure that no transactions are attached to it anymore. After two subsequent year-end closings, you will be able to purge the account.
Ø  Click to open the Maintain menu
Ø  Click on Chart of Accounts. The Maintain Chart of Accounts window will be displayed on your screen
Ø  Enter/select the account ID you need to make inactive
Ø  To view the list of existing accounts, go to the G/L Account ID field and type?. Alternately, you may click on the Lookup button.
Ø Click on the Inactive check box to the right of the selected account ID.

How to Delete a particular Payment on the Account in Sage 50?

Ans. To delete a particular payment, you need to delete the relevant transactions. To proceed, you need to log out all users from the Sage 50 application. Click on the Navigation bar and click the “Transactions” option. Then, select the transaction you need to delete and click on the Delete button to close the activity.

Sage Chat help desk
Sage Chat help desk

Customer Service

AVAILABLE 24/7

Chat with us

HOURS OF AVAILABILITY VARY
Related Posts:

Report Your Issue

(Didn't find what you were looking for! Report your issue and get customized help from our Sage experts.)



    Sage Version

    Edition Year

    No of User: Licence

    Operating System:

    Help Needed:

    Write your Issue

    Further Reading