Purging Unnecessary Data in Sage 50

Purging Unnecessary Data in Sage 50

If you are a user of Sage 50, you must have understood why this accounting platform is used extensively by businesses and accounting professionals all over the world. It has helped businesses to keep an efficient track of their accounting activities. It has come up with many amazing tools and features to help businesses save a lot of their time and effort. Purging is an important feature incorporated in Sage 50 and this has given it a definite edge over similar software.

Are you yet to use this feature? You are missing something indeed! Don’t worry! We have it covered for you! Simply go through this blog. Here, we will tell you from scratch, how you can use the purging feature in Sage 50 and get rid of bulky, unnecessary data.

Here we go!

First things first! Let’s get to know what purging is all about.

What is Purging? When to Purge Data in Sage 50?

Purging is basically the process that allows you to remove inactive employees, vendors, purchases, customers, jobs, quotes, invoices and others from your company records. By purging, we can reduce the size of the otherwise bulky files of a company. Thus, we can free valuable disk space to keep active and current data.

In Sage 50, you can purge data as and when you want. Most of the users perform purging after they close the Sage payroll tax year or the fiscal year through the Year-End wizard.

How to Perform Purging in Sage 50?

You can perform purging with the Sage 50 Purge Wizard. Here are the steps to follow-

  • Go to Sage 50 menu bar and select Tasks
  • Go to System >>Purge Wizard.
  • The Welcome Screen of Purge Wizard will be displayed. Click Next.
  • The wizard will direct you to take a proper backup. Once the backup gets completed, you will again be directed to this window.
  • Click Next.
  • Now, you will be directed to specify the transactions for purging.
  • Enter the date by which you need to purge the said transactions
  • Navigate to the Transactions group box and specify the transactions to purge, by selecting them
    • For deleting payroll transactions, click on Payroll
    • Click General Journals to delete journals and other related entries.
    • Click Payable for deleting transactions like payments, purchases, and purchase orders.
    • Click Receivables in order to delete transactions like receipts, invoices, and quotes.
    • For deleting expense and time tickets not yet used in payroll and sales, choose Unused Tickets (Sage 50 Complete Accounting or higher only).
    • For deleting expense and time tickets used already in payroll and sales, click on Used Tickets (Sage 50 Complete Accounting or higher only).
    • Choose Inventory to delete assemblies and adjustments.
    • For deleting company audit trail data, Select Audit Trails (Sage 50 Complete Accounting or higher only).
    • Then enter a date by which you want such tickets to be purged.
  • Once complete, click Next to start the purge process.
  • The Account Reconciliation window will appear. It will ask you to specify if you wish to use account reconciliation. If you click yes, you need to specify the accounts that need reconciling.

Also Read: How to Setup & Pay Employees Using Sage 50

  • Once complete, click Next to go ahead with the purge process.
  • The Inactive Maintenance Records window will appear on your screen. It will ask you to specify the types of such records you wish to purge. You can purge these records only when they have a zero balance and are not used by any of the transactions.
  • Click the check boxes against each of the following types of inactive maintenance records you wish to purge:
    • Vendors
    • Customers/Prospects
    • General Ledger Accounts
    • Employees/Sales Reps
    • Jobs/Phases/Cost Codes
    • Inventory Items
    • Attribute Sets (Sage 50 Complete Accounting or higher only)
  • Once done, click Next to continue with the process of purging.
  • After you have made all the choices, a summary of the options will be displayed on the screen. Here, you can either start the purging or make the required changes before the purging.

Final Words!

We hope the sequential steps mentioned above would help you a great deal to get rid of bulky, unnecessary data with the help of the purging feature in Sage 50. If you are still facing any difficulties in carrying out the above-mentioned steps, you may speak to our experts, anytime you want.


🔸FAQ on Purging Unnecessary Data in Sage 50🔸

Q1. What does Purging Mean in Sage 50?

Ans: Purging is basically the process that allows you to remove inactive employees, vendors, purchases, customers, jobs, quotes, invoices, and others from your company records. By purging, we can reduce the size of the otherwise bulky files of a company. Thus, we can free valuable disk space to keep active and current data.

Q2. When Can I Perform the Purging of My Data in Sage 50?

Ans: In Sage 50, you can purge data any time you want. Most of the users perform purging after they close the payroll tax year or the fiscal year through the Year-End wizard.

Q3. Is it Necessary to Take Back up While Purging Data in Sage 50?

Ans: Yes. Absolutely. Before you start purging you should take a backup. In fact, it is recommended to make 2 backups. One of the backups can be used for present reference. You can store the other in a secure location for any emergency purpose in the future.

Summary

Purging Unnecessary Data in Sage 50
Article Name: Purging Unnecessary Data in Sage 50
Description: Purging Unnecessary data in Sage 50 such as inactive users, vendors, employees, quotes, invoices, bills from the company records.
Author Name: Nency Willims
Publisher Name: Accountingadvice.co

Report Your Issue

(Didn't find what you were looking for! Report your issue and get customized help from our Sage experts.)



    Sage Version

    Edition Year

    No of User: Licence

    Operating System:

    Help Needed:

    Write your Issue

    Further Reading